Fire Science

NFPA National Fire Codes and the 2006 International Fire Code
Both codes are accessible from the computer research stations located on the first floor of the JCCC Library. Select the code service from the listing of JCCC Library databases. Once you have linked to either service, please ask at the Reference Desk for help with the login. Both subscriptions allow for only one simultaneous user.

Periodicals:

The JCCC Library subscribes to Fire Technology (current 10 years), Fire Engineering (current 10 years), NFPA Journal (current 10 years), Firehouse (1/2004 –present) and Fire Chief (current 10 years). Some related periodicals covering emergency care and rescue are JEMS (current 10 years) and Prehospital and Disaster Medicine (current 10 years). Indexing and selected full text for these titles and others (ex. Journal of Fire Sciences) are provided by several electronic database services such as Academic OneFile, Research Library and LexisNexis Academic.

Try other periodical indexes available in the library. PsycARTICLES, LegalTrac, ERIC, Business & Company Resource Center and others will locate articles on your subject from different perspectives. For example, if you look in ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), you will find material on the teaching of fire safety, while a business index will offer coverage of management topics. PsycARTICLES articles may cover burnout among firefighters, the psychological profile of fire setters, etc. Ask at the Reference Desk for information about various indexes available.

Legal Materials:

LexisNexis Academic (on & off campus access) includes federal and state statutes, regulations and case law. Westlaw (library use only) also covers these primary sources. Many of these legal materials are also available freely on the www. The Kansas State Fire Marshal provides links to relevant KS code and regulations at http://www.kansas.gov/firemarshal/Resources/resource.htm

Finding books and general periodical articles:

Check the Reference stacks for The Fire Protection Handbook and other “background” sources. Use the online catalog to find books on various fire science topics. Some useful subject headings include fire fighters and fire extinction and fire prevention. These subjects are also well covered in Academic OneFile & Research Library ; you may print the full text of many articles found in these databases.

Web Sites:

U.S. Fire Administration
Statistics related to fire incidents that affect communities throughout the United States are available at this site produced by the National Fire Administration.

The National Fire Protection Association
This homepage for the NFPA describes the many publications, services, and resources of the association. It also provides links to other fire science resources.

Building and Fire Research Laboratory
Link to FIREDOC (BFRL Research Information Service under Products and Services), the fire research bibliographic database of the 70,000 FRIS holdings, to Fire Test Data (Fire on the Web under Products and Services), to internet resources, and to publications from the Building & Fire Research Library (BFRL).

International Association of Firefighters
Information on safety, fire careers, legislation, more.

Women in the Fire Service, Inc.
Information and networking opportunities.

Firehouse.com
Companion to the periodical, Firehouse. Includes thousands of links to information and commentary related to rescue, safety, and emergency medical service and fire service.

Carol Campbell, Sept. 2008 Return to Guides Index