Children's Authors and Illustrators

You will be looking for three types of information:

  • Primary Sources; i.e. works by the author or illustrator
  • Biographical Information; i.e. information about the life of the author or illustrator
  • Critical Sources; i.e. information about the work of the author or illustrator

Locating Primary Sources:

Using the Billington Library Online Catalog, look for works by the author or illustrator. Select the author option in the box on the right, and enter the author's name, (last name first) in the search box.
For Example-- Author: Sendak, Maurice or Author: DeAngeli, Marguerite

If you are looking for a particular work, you may also search by title. Highlight the title selection in the box on the right and enter the title of the book in the search box. If the first word of the title begins with an article (a, an, or the), omit it in your search.
For Example-- Title: Polar Express or Title: Make Way for Ducklings

Remember that if the JCCC Library does not own a copy of the book for which you are looking, you can get the book by using the Interlibrary Loan service. Residents of Johnson County with public library cards may also go directly to their nearest branch library to check out the books.

Locating Biographical and Critical Sources:

Books about the author: Using the Online Catalog, look up the author or illustrator as a subject. Select Subject on the right and in the dialog box, enter the name of your author or illustrator, (last name first).
For Example-- Subject: Lowry, Lois or Subject: Keats, Ezra.

Articles in Databases:

You will find excellent biographical and review articles by looking up the author and/or the book in any of the following online databases:

The following reference books, which are described below, contain biographical and critical data about important figures in children's literature. Many of them are now available online through the Literature Resource Center or the Gale Virtual Reference Collection.

REF PN 441.D4 Dictionary of Literary Biography

This multivolume series contains lengthy biographical and critical articles about the authors and illustrators. Each volume also contains some articles providing an overview of the period covered and an exploration of important themes. Use the index at the end of the final volume in the series to learn in which volume your author is covered. All of them are now online in the Literature Resource Center.

REF PN 451.S6 Vol. 1-177 Something about the Author

This on-going series contains the most exhaustive coverage of children's authors. In some cases there will be more than one biography of the same author, particularly if he or she has continued to grow in the field. Use the index at the end of the last volume to locate an author. Current volumes are online in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

REF PN 1008.5.094 2006 Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature

This four volume set contains articles on authors, illustrators and genres, worldwide. There is a list of award-winning books and authors in the fourth volume.

REF PN 490.S54 2002 Essential Guide to Children's Books and Their Creators

This one-volume resource includes about 500 entries on children's authors and illustrators as well as essays on social/historical issues and categorized reading lists. It is also an e-Book.

REF PN 451.Y4 Vols. 1-2 Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children

This two-volume set offers an in-depth treatment of classic children's authors. Its coverage is largely British and American, but some European authors are included.

REF PN 1009.A1B582 Fifteen Centuries of Children's Literature

This is a massive bibliography of children's books from all ages and geographic areas.

REF PN 1009.A1 F575 Who's Who in Children's Books

This reference work contains biographies of the characters in children's books.

REF PN 1009.A1 T9 1995 Twentieth Century Children's Writers

This is a source of additional biographical material for twentieth century writers.

REF PS 374.C454 H45 Vols. 1-5 Dictionary of American Children's Fiction, 1859-1999

This is a five-volume set that discusses individual American children's books of merit. It is arranged chronologically.

Index Shelves Horn Book Index, 1924-1989

This is an index to The Horn Book Magazine, the leading US periodical devoted to children's literature. Each bimonthly issue contains reviews of the newest books available as well as articles covering many aspects of children's literature. Note: Horn Book is available in print [1960 to present] and online [1992 to present] in several JCCC databases.

 

If you are having difficulty, please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

 

Andrea Kempf 2007, revised June 2009cc Return to Guides Index