Finding Out About Films and Locating Film Reviews in Billington Library - JCCC

 
I. REFERENCE BOOKS ABOUT FILMS
 
Halliwell’s Film Guide [REF] PN 1993.45.H27
This is a directory of virtually every film and video released. It includes foreign films. Films are arranged alphabetically by title. You will find data concerning actors, directors, date of release, running time, etc. for each film. Each entry also includes a brief summary and critique for the film.
 
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers:
V.I Films, V.2 Filmmakers
[REF] PN 1993.45.I58
Volume I contains excellent series of articles on well-know films released before 1990. Each article includes a bibliography of books and articles about the film. Volume 2 consists of serious articles about well-known directors. Each article also includes an excellent bibliography.
 
II. REFERENCE BOOKS ABOUT PEOPLE IN FILMS
 
Biographical Dictionary of Film [REF] PN 1998.2.T49
In this volume, you will find biographies of significant individuals in the film industry. Entries range in length from half a page to two pages.
 
Film Encyclopedia [REF] PN 1993.45.K34
Here are additional biographies of people in the film industry.
 
III. FINDING REVIEWS OF FILMS
 
Most film reviews appear in publications in the same year that the film was released. It’s often necessary to verify the release date of an older film in Halliwell’s before looking for a review. It’s also important to remember that search. This second strategy is riskier and more likely to retrieve websites trying to market the movie rather than review it.
 
A few useful databases include:
The Internet Movie Database
This database purports to review thousands of films, providing cast and production information as well as reviews. Users should be aware that Amazon.com owns this database, and reviews are by viewers and fans, not by experts.
 
Rotten Tomatoes
It not only links users to reviews throughout the country, but also rates the movies, depending on how positive the external reviews were.
 

Andrea Kempf, updated June 2009 Return to Guides Index