Reference
- Deaf/Deafness
| Deaf artists in America : colonial to contemporary |
N 6505 .S614 |
| Deaf heritage : a narrative history of deaf America |
HV 2530 .G36 |
| Deaf persons in the arts and sciences : a biographical dictionary |
HV 2373 .L36 |
| A Dictionary of idioms for the deaf |
PE 1460 .D47 |
| Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness |
HV 2365 .G35 |
| Great deaf Americans : the second edition |
HV 2534 .A3 M66 |
| A guide to colleges for hearing impaired students |
HV 2551 .G85 |
| Oxford handbook of deaf studies, language, and education |
HV 2380 .O88 |
| Algebraic signs for the hearing impaired |
HV 2477 .J6 |
| American Sign Language |
HV 2475 .S77 |
| The American sign language dictionary |
HV 2475 .S78 |
| The American Sign Language handshape dictionary |
HV 2475 .T46 |
- Sign Language
| A comprehensive bibliography on American sign language : a resource manual |
HV 2474 .Z99 F37 |
| Comprehensive reference manual for signers and interpreters |
HV 2474 .H655 |
| Oxford handbook of deaf studies, language, and education |
HV 2380 .O88 |
| The Perigee visual dictionary of signing : A to Z guide to over 1,200 signs of American sign language |
HV 2475 .B87 |
| Random House American sign language dictionary |
HV 2475 .C67 |
| Random House Webster's American sign language computer dictionary |
HV 2475 C6623 |
| Random House Webster's American sign language legal dictionary |
K 52 .A6 C67 |
| Random House Webster's American sign language medical dictionary |
HV 2475 .C663 |
| Ward's natural sign language thesaurus of useful signs and synonyms |
HV 2475 .W37 |
Circulating Books/AV Materials
Use the online catalog to find books and other materials related to your topic.
Ask at the Reference Desk for help in choosing subject headings for your research or try combining terms in a keyword search.
All books that can be checked out are located on the second floor of the Billington Library.
Periodicals
Use periodical indexes to find articles for your research.
Try Expanded Academic ASAP as a good starting place.
PsycInfo indexes material in the field of psychology and
ERIC offers good coverage of education.
You can also use the Index to Deaf Periodicals (available on the Gallaudet University Library website),
or the NTID Deaf Index
available at Rochester Institute of Technology/National Technical Institute for
the Deaf (NTID) site.
Specific Periodicals
- American Annals of the Deaf (JCCC has 2/72 – current)
Professional journal focusing on "cultural identity and diversity in deaf education."
- Deaf American & Deaf American Monograph (JCCC has 1972 – 1996)
"This series from NAD has relevant articles covering all aspects of deafness. Each monograph has more than 20 articles focusing on a particular theme."
- Deaf Life (JCCC has 2/92 – 6/02) (Note: No issues published 1999-2001)
"Focuses on profiles, news, controversial issues and cultural topics related to the deaf community.
A very popular and colorful periodical which appeals to a wide audience of readers."
- Gallaudet Today (JCCC has Winter 1978 - current)
"Gallaudet University's alumni magazine includes feature articles."
- Indexed in NTID Deaf
Index (1996 - current) (previous years forthcoming)
- Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
- Sign Language Studies
(JCCC has Winter 2006- current)
- Views: Newsletter of the Registry of the Interpreters of the Deaf (JCCC
has 7/98 – current)
"General info only."
- Volta Review (JCCC has 1970 – current)
"AG Bell's peer-reviewed, scholarly journal inviting original, unpublished manuscripts submissions devoted to the education, aural (re)habilitation, and communicative development of people of all ages who are deaf or hard of hearing."
- Volta Voices (JCCC keeps current 10 years)
"Features articles on legislation, technology and focuses on the use of speech and residual hearing."
Web Sites
Subject-Based Deaf
Community Internet Resources
Comprehensive site including guides to web resources on all sorts of topics related to deaf studies.
The site is kept current and links are checked frequently.
Gallaudet U. Deaf-related Web Sites
This is a great list of research-oriented & sign language web sites.
RIT Libraries' Guide
- Deaf Biographies
This bibliography suggests some books, videos and web resources about deaf
individuals in various fields.
Deaf Education Website
You must register to use the resources on this site.
However, there is no charge for registering and the site provides a wealth of information about deaf education and other topics.
Formerly hosted by Kent State U.
Interpreter Training Resources
San Antonio College Library has prepared this very useful list of resources for interpreters.