Reference:
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
General Encyclopedias provide an overview or broad outline of a wide range of subjects.
Subject Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are specialized sources for background information and vocabulary in a particular area of interest.
Examples are:
General Encyclopedias:
Subject Encyclopedias:
Look for these other kinds of sources that cover your subject area:
- Almanacs
- Handbooks or Guides
- Statistical Sources (general call number = HA)
- Quotation Books (general call number = PN 6000's)
- New! iPOLL
=
online source for United States public opinion data covering 1935 – present.
Circulating Materials:
Search the online library catalog for books related to your topic.
You may search by author, title, subject or keyword.
Try a keyword search to locate series such as
Opposing Viewpoints
[now online!],
Contemporary Issues, or Taking Sides.
Periodicals:
The term PERIODICAL includes magazines (intended for a wide variety of readers rather than specialists in a particular field),
journals (intended for academic or professional readers) and newspapers.
The following periodicals are excellent resources for examining current
issues:
-
CQ Researcher
(full text online as one of the
JCCC databases; available on & off campus.)
- Congressional Digest - A Pro & Con Monthly (current issue on
display - JK1 .C65; ask for older issues at the Periodicals Desk.)
INDEXES are tools which help you find periodical material about your subject or by a particular author.
Use general indexes that offer coverage of a wide range of subjects such as:
-
Academic OneFile
(one of the JCCC databases available on & off campus)
NOTE: Use the keyword capability to link your topic with 'editorial' to find opinionated material.
-
LexisNexis Academic (available on & off campus)
Excellent general news, business, & legal topics.
-
Research Library
(database offering full text coverage as well as indexing--available on & off campus)
-
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
(online database including
many periodical articles and lots of other material including statistical
material, reference resources, and polarized essays; available on & off
campus
with JCCC
ID
Use subject indexes such as:
Web Sites:
Here are a few useful web sites: