Researching Career Opportunites

Thoughtful research and careful investigation are the first steps in the adventure of career planning. If you want to locate descriptions of careers and the outlook for working in that field or industry explore the following library resources:

Reference Books:

100 Best Careers for the 21st Century [Ref] HF 5381 .F476
200 Best Jobs for College Graduates [Ref] HF 5381 .T85
American Almanac of Jobs & Salaries [Ref] HD 8038 .U5 A68
American Salaries & Wages Survey [Ref] HD 4973 .A67
College Majors Handbook with Real Career Paths and Payoffs [Ref] HF 5382.5 .U5 F644
America's Top 100 Jobs for People without A Four-Year Degree [Ref] HF 5382.5 U6 K716
Dictionary of Occupational Titles [Ref] HB 2595 .D52
Encyclopedia of Careers & Vocational Guidance [Ref] HF 5381 .E52
Occupational Outlook Handbook [Ref] HF 5381 .U62
Specialty Occupational Outlook--Professions [Ref] HD 8038 .A1 S66
Specialty Occupational Outlook--Trade & Technical [Ref] HF 5382 .S63

Online Catalog:

Look up a career area of interest to you by typing a subject search. For example, Dental hygiene--vocational guidance will locate books on the career of dental hygienist. Other subject terms that you might search are 'occupations', 'job descriptions', and 'professions'. In addition, general career information that may be browsed and checked-out will be on the second floor of the library in call number ranges HF 5381 - HF 5382.
Go to the Library Catalog.

Periodical Indexes:

Magazines and journals are excellent, up-to-date sources for locating career information. Search using terms that name the occupation you are researching, for example nurse practitioner, or biologist. Subject indexes may yield more focused information on careers in that subject's field.

PAPER: ELECTRONIC:
Applied Science & Technology Business and Company Resource Center
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature ERIC
  Expanded Academic ASAP
  Science Full-Text Select
  Health Reference Center- Academic
  Index to Legal Periodicals
  PsycArticles
  PsycInfo
  Social Science Abstracts
  CINAHL
  Periodical Abstracts
  LexisNexis Academic

Web Sites:

There are many comprehensive career and job search sites on the Internet. Most of the sites link the user to additional sites. Here are a few that emphasize career exploration:

* JCCC's Career Center is located at SC 252, phone extension 3870. They have many useful services for students. *

Judith Vaughn, August 2005 Return to Guides Index