Resources for Starting a Small Business

See also the library guides: 'Measuring the KC Metropolitan Area' and 'Identifying Customers/Reaching the Market'.

Reference Books:

The Business Plans Handbook [REF] HD 62.7 .B865
This multi-volume set is a compilation of actual business plans developed by entrepreneurs seeking small business funding. See the Cumulative Index in the latest volume to locate business plans by type of business. Note:  This resource is also available online as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library
   
Encyclopedia of Small Business [REF] HD 62.7 .H553
This two-volume set covers over 500 small business topics, arranged alphabetically by topic.    Note:  This resource is also available online as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library
   
How to Start a Business in Kansas                                                    [REF] HD62.5 H68527
From the cover --- Includes current state/federal startup information, contracts; statistics; legislation; business organization; business plans; financial management; sales & marketing tips; tax strategies; office procedures; etc. How to Start a Business in Missouri is also available.  
   
Small Business Profiles: A Guide to Today's Top Opportunities [REF] HD 62.7 .S621
Covers "crucial aspects of business start up, such as: costs and expected profits, financing, marketing and advertising, obtaining licenses, deciding on insurance needs and much more."
   
J.K. Lasser's Legal and Corporation Forms for the Smaller Business [REF] KF 1355 .A65 J17
This is one of several resources offering useful forms.
   
Small Business Sourcebook [REF] HD 2346 .U5 S66 Vol. 1 & 2
This two volume set is valuable to both "beginning entrepreneurs and seasoned business professionals." It lists resources that are important to over 300 types of small businesses. These sources include startup information, trade associations and trade magazines, statistical and other reference sources, franchises, etc. The set also includes articles covering issues important to small business owners.
   
Steps to Success:  A Resource guide for Starting a Business in Kansas [REF] HD69.S6 K35

This resource is available online (http://kdoch.state.ks.us/KDOCHdocs/BD/Steps_To_Success.pdf) & provides the organizing and financing resources needed to start a Kansas business.  Steps to Success also provides a comprehensive look at state regulations for new businesses.

Circulating Materials:

Check the Billington Library catalog under the subject "small business" and its subdivisions for material that can be checked out. Look also for books specific to your kind of business.

Library Databases:

Entrepreneurship

Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans, and tips from successful entrepreneurs.

LexisNexis Academic
(available on campus & off-campus with a current ID)
Academic offers a wealth of business information. Check the "Business" category and then look for "Business News" or check the "Sources" button on the upper left for periodicals related to your business.

Business & Company Resource Center
(available on campus & off-campus with a current ID)
Use this database to research all business and management topics. This source includes listings of associations representing different kinds of businesses as well as industry overviews identifying key concerns and forecasts for many, many businesses. Use a SIC or NAICS code to look for information. Offers full text of many articles.

ABI/Inform
(available on campus & off campus with a current ID)
ABI/Inform includes reporting and analysis of consumer attitudes, expenditures, marketing/advertising efforts, industry trends, etc. It indexes, abstracts, and provides selected full text for material from professional publications, academic journals and trade magazines.

Kansas City Business Journal

Get local business news (also job openings, commercial real estate listings, small business info, etc.) from the online edition of the Kansas City Business Journal.

America's Newspapers
(available on campus & off campus with a current ID)
America's Newspapers provides full text coverage of articles from the Kansas City Star (1991-present). Newspapers from Kansas (Emporia, Lawrence, Manhattan, Topeka, and Wichita) are also available.

Sorkins Online
(available on campus only)
Sorkins offers expanded metro area coverage of businesses, organizations & government. Find out about existing businesses - access by SIC, company name, county/zip code, etc. Provides names of key personnel, addresses, kind of business and some indication of size of employees and sales range.

Web Sites:

Small Business Planner
The Small Business Administration provides information about programs and services that can help your small business "start, grow, and succeed."

Developing a Business Plan
Thorough coverage of the business plan prepared by a professor at the University of Washington.

CCH Business Owner's Toolkit
"Total know-how for small business."

Nolo's Legal Encyclopedia
The "Small Business" section of this encyclopedia features a series of articles on topics related to starting and operating a small business.

Where to start & grow your business
The editors of Inc magazine offer a wealth of information including sections on writing a business plan, starting a business, running a one-person business, etc.

Carol Campbell, Aug, 2009 Return to Guides Index