National sources with local data:
| Statistical Abstract of the United States |
[REF] HA 202 A5 |
| Good starting place for US industrial, social, political & economic statistics.
Look at the end of any table to find the source document for the data.
Available online. |
| |
|
| State and Metropolitan
Area Data Book |
|
| Information in the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business
establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths,
education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health,
households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and
divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic
origin, residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services,
tourism, transportation, and veterans.
Available online. |
| |
|
| County and City Data Book |
[REF] HA 202 .A36 |
| Good statistical coverage on states, counties, cities and places in the US. US Census data.
Available online. |
| |
|
| County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City and County Data Book |
[REF] HA 203 .C68 |
| This commercially published source updates and amplifies the County & City Data Book. |
| |
|
| Rand McNally: Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide |
[REF] G 1200 .R3 |
| In addition to maps, includes tables showing retail sales, business conditions, transportation routes, income, buying power, etc. |
| |
|
| AACRA Cost of Living Index |
[REF] HB 235 .U6 C58 |
| Provides comparative information on the cost of consumer goods in over 275 urban areas in the US. Quarterly. |
| |
|
| The Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics |
[REF] HA 203 .S66 |
| Reports various population counts by zip code.
Also offers measures of income including indexes of spending potential in different consumer categories for each zip code. |
| |
|
| Survey of Buying Power & Survey of Media Markets |
Periodicals Desk |
| This annual special issue of the magazine, Sales & Marketing Management, provides a variety of data related to buying power and retail sales.As
of 2005, no longer published. |
State, Regional and Local Sources:
Web Sites
U.S. Bureau of the Census
Comprehensive collection of social, demographic, and economic information.
Try looking at the link to American Factfinder, one of the new features on this page, to shortcut your search through the wealth of information accumulated by the Census Bureau.
County Business Patterns
County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides state, county, and ZIP economic data by industry.
Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effetiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets.
Kansas Data
The Institute for Policy & social Research was created in 2000 by the University of Kansas to bring University expertise in the areas of metropolitan studies, public policy, and economics to the state, region, and nation.
PRI provides an active link between the University, state and local governments.
The website includes County Profile Reports, Kansas Statistical Abstract, Kansas Quarterly Economic Indicators and other Kansas data resources.
Metrodataline
Mid-America Regional Council manages this great source for data about metropolitan Kansas City.
Here you will find data on the region's population, economy, social characteristics, environment, and government.
The Kansas City Metro Economy
The UMKC Center for Economic Information maintains this site which features a clickable map of the metro area, with lots of census data.
Missouri Census Data Center
The Missouri Census Data Center is a sponsored program of the Missouri State Library within the office of the Missouri Secretary of State.
It is part of a network of data agencies that serve government, business, not-for-profits, educators, or anyone in need of economic and demographic data.