Identifying Customers

(See also the library guide: Measuring the KC Metropolitan Area)

Reference Books:

Household spending : who spends how much on what [REF] HC110.C6 A66
The American marketplace: Demographics and spending patterns [REF] HA 214 .A6
American incomes : demographics of who has money [REF] HC110.I5 A44
American generations : who they are, how they live, what they think [REF] HC 110 .C6 M545
The baby boom : Americans born 1946 to 1964 [REF] HF5415.33.U6 R877
Generation X : Americans born 1965 to 1976 [REF] HC110.C6 G46
The Millennials : Americans born 1977 to 1994 [REF] HQ796 .M4797
Getting wiser to teens: more insights into marketing to teenagers [REF] HF5415.32 .Z65
Older Americans : a changing market [REF] HC110.C6 M545
Best customers : demographics of consumer demand [REF] HC79.C6 B47
American time use: who spends how long at what [REF] HD69.T54 A46
American health : demographics and spending of health care consumers [REF] RA445 .A447

Reaching the Market:

Finder Binder. Kansas City Metro Area's Updated Media Directory [REF] Z 6953 .K3 F5
This source offers complete coverage of media in the KC area. Programming information for radio & TV and advertising rates for all media are included.
 
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media [REF] Z 6951 .A97
Organized by state & city, this guide presents comprehensive information on newspapers, magazines, radio stations, television stations & cable systems. Includes advertising rates, circulation and regional market information. (5 vols)
 
Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook [REF] HE 8689 .B77
This annual publication offers extensive coverage of all the broadcast/cable media in the US & Canada. A variety of audience measures (Arbitron, Nielsen, viewing times, etc.) are offered for the different media in geographic breakdowns.
 
Polk City Directory for Johnson County, Kansas (North & South) [REF] F 474 .J6 P67
Cole's Cross Reference Directory, Kansas City and Suburbs [REF] F 474 .K23
These cross reference directories are heavily used by businesses trying to reach customers. Listings of residents in neighborhoods are arranged by street name or names/addresses are accessed by telephone number. Similar directories are available for cities throughout the US.
 

Library Databases:

Business and Company Resource Center
(Available off-campus with a current ID.)
Use this database to research all business and management topics. Consumer behavior & expenditure are well covered. Offers full text of many articles.

ABI/INFORM
(Available off-campus with a current ID.)
ABI/INFORM includes reporting and analysis of consumer attitudes, expenditures, marketing/advertising efforts, industry trends, etc. It indexes abstracts, and provides selected full text for material from professional publications, academic journals and trade magazines.

LexisNexis Academic
(Available off-campus with a current ID.)
Database includes many full text business periodicals and reports relevant to advertising and marketing efforts.

Sorkins Online
(Available on campus only.)
Sorkins offers expanded metro area coverage of businesses, organizations & government. Identify KC metro area business customers - access by SIC, company name, county/zip code, etc. Provides names of key personnel, address, kind of business and some indication of size of employees and sales range.

Web Sites:

Advertising World
Sponsored/maintained by the University of Texas, Austin Advertising Dept. Self described as "The most extensive collection of advertising-related links on the Web!" it offers "resources for advertising & marketing professionals, students, and teachers."

Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics) collects information from the Nation's households and families on their buying habits (expenditures), income, and characteristics.

Carol Campbell, June 2009 Return to Guides Index