Interior Design Products

Reference Books, General Information:

Encyclopedia of Interior Design (2 Vols) [Ref] NK 1165 .E48
Concise Encyclopedia of Interior Design [Ref] NK 1165 .D58
Dictionary of Interior Design [Ref] NK 1165 .P4
Interior Graphic and Design Standards [Ref] NA 2708 .R49
(The Standards are divided into three parts: Standard Dimensions of Manufactured Interior Components, Residential Graphic and Design Standards, and Commercial Graphic and Design Standards)
Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design & Space Planning [Ref] NK 2110 .D35
Time-Saver Standards for Building Types [Ref] NA 2760 .D42
Specifications for Commercial Interiors [Ref] TH 4311 .R485
Consumers Guide to Product Grades and Terms [Ref] TX 335 .C669
Interior Design Source Book [Ref] NK 1705 .L48

Reference Books, Company and Industry Information:

U. S. Industry and Trade Outlook [Ref] HC101.U54
Directory of Corporate Affiliations [Ref] HG057.A218
Kansas Directory of Commerce [Ref] HF5065.K2 K363
Kansas Manufacturers Directory [Ref] HF5065.K2
Missouri Directory of Manufacturers [Ref] HF5065.M57
Sorkins Directory of Business and Government [Ref] HG4058.K3 S6
Standard and Poors Register [Ref] HG4057.A4
American Wholesaler & Distributors Directory [Ref] HF5035.A54
North American Industry Classification System [Ref] HF1041.5.N674
Standard Industrial Code [Ref] HF 1042 .A55

Most books on companies and industries can be searched by the Standard Industrial Code (S.I.C.) or the North American Industry Classification System ( NAICS), which allows the searcher to locate companies that produce or manufacture similar goods. Keyword indexes are also an aid in locating products of interest.

Library Catalog:

Online Library Catalog
Look up a product area of interest to you by typing a subject search. For example, furniture will locate books on furniture in general and then lists references to other more specific types of furniture.

Periodical Indexes:

Magazines and journals are excellent, up-to-date sources for locating information on products and companies. Search using terms that define the subject you are interested in locating, such as a specific company name in a business index or a specific product in a general or consumer index.

PRINT: (Index Table) ELECTRONIC:
Applied Science & Technology Business and Company Resource Center
Art Index (interior design, not products or companies) Expanded Academic ASAP
Consumers Index ABI-Inform
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature Periodical Abstracts
  Lexis-Nexis Academic

Web Sites:

There are numerous World Wide Web sites that provide access to interior design products. To begin your web search you might want to use a search engine such as Google and do a search for the terms: 'interior design products'. Individual products or companies can also be searched.

FabricLink www.fabriclink.com

Judith Vaughn, January 2003 Return to Guides Index