References:
Standard Industrial Classification Manual: [REF] HF 1042 .A55 1987
North American Industry Classification System: [REF] HF 1041.5 .N674
Use these two sources to determine the code representing the industry you are exploring.
Many information sources are organized by industry code rather than industry name.
The NAIC is replacing the SIC. See web site addresses below.
The Value Line Investment Survey: [REF] HG 4501 .V26
This investment advisory service provides current information about the status of 95 industries in review essays which precede articles evaluating individual companies.
Now available online.
Encyclopedia of American Industries:
[REF] HC 102 .E53
Presented by SIC. Vol 1 covers manufacturing industries; Vol 2 covers
service & other non-manufacturing industries. Offers industry overview,
structure, history, current conditions, work force, etc.
Now available online. See
Business & Company Resource Center .
Business Statistics of the US: [REF] HC 101 .B87
Compiles annual data (1968--) on production, employment, sales, inventory by commodity & industry. Most recent data is monthly.
Many of the statistics have appeared in the periodical,
Survey of Current Business.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys: [REF] HF 5681 .S72
S&P surveys offer broad views of industries, including their structure and size, company analysis, forecasts, trends, and internal and external issues impacting the industries.
Now available online in
NetAdvantage.
RMA Annual Statement Studies: [REF] HF 5681 .B2 R6
Covers 300 lines of business including manufacturing, wholesale, retail and services.
Composite statements are presented by SIC and represent companies with assets valued under $50 million.
Key Business Ratios, One Year: [REF] HF 5681 .R25
This series (5 vols -Manufacturing, Wholesaling, Retailing, Agriculture/mining/construction & Finance/real estate/services) offers 14 performance indicators for companies represented by about 800 SIC's.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios: [REF] HF 5681 .R25 A45
Covers 180 industries & services classified by coding similar to the SIC.
Reports ratios based on IRS figures.
Library Databases:
NetAdvantage
(available on campus & off campus with a current ID)
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage includes ready access to some popular S&P
research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund
Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations,
Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, and more..
LexisNexis Academic
(available on campus & off campus with a current ID)
Check the "Business" section for excellent news coverage and for full text access to the most recent Hoover's Handbooks, SEC filings, and S&P reports.
Business and Company Resource Center
(available on campus & off campus with a current ID)
Use this database to research all business and management topics.
Includes directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as information on finance, trade, new technologies, trends and more.
Offers full text of many articles.
ABI/INFORM
(available on campus & off campus with a current ID)
This database covers company histories, industry information, product development, etc.
It indexes, abstracts, and provides selected full text for material from professional publications, academic journals and trade magazines.
Value Line
(available on campus & off campus with a current ID)
Value Line is an independent research
company that collects data and analyzes performance of all New York Stock
Exchange and American Stock Exchange traded stocks, along with major NASDAQ
stocks and other securities. It also includes a quarterly
industry analysis for 94 industry groups.
Web Sites:
SIC Code Search
Enter industry name, number or browse the structure.
NAICS Search
North American Industry Classification System replaces the SIC code.
Industry Information
Debbie Flanagan provides business research links to help determine industry leaders, industry trends, new products, and new technologies.
Current Industrial Reports from the Census Bureau
Most of the reports provide statistics on production, shipments, exports, imports & consumption.