Reference Sources:
| Consumer Reports Buying Guide |
[REF] TX 335 .A1 C6 |
| This is an annual report which summarizes articles which have appeared in Consumer Reports. It also can serve as an index to the magazine. |
| |
| Consumers' Guide to Product Grades and Terms |
[REF] TX 335 .C669 |
| (from grade A to VSOP--definitions of 8,000 terms describing food, housewares, and other everyday items) |
Among the 21 sections reporting on consumer products are sections on:
- Health & Beauty Products, which include terminology used on such personal care products as cosmetics, fragrances, soaps & shampoos.
- Textiles & Apparel, which explains guidelines for fiber content, country of origin, and fabric care methods.
- Also included are tables for estimating useful life of wearing apparel.
|
| |
| Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands (3 vols.) |
[REF] HF 5415.3 .E527 |
| Volume 2 of this set offers extensive information on personal products (brands include Coach, Avon, Healthtex, Dockers, Maidenform and many, many others).
Volume 3 covers durable goods including brands such as Fieldcrest, Oneida, Waterford, Lenox, and American Tourister. |
| |
| Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs |
[REF] RS 250 .N66 |
| Nonprescription Products, Formulations & Features. |
| These are companion volumes: the Handbook provides definitions that might be useful and the Formulations & Features volume provides detailed ingredient comparisons between brand name products.
Look for toothpastes, dry skin products, and sunscreen & suntan products. |
| |
| How Products are Made: An Illustrated Guide to Products Manufacturing |
[REF] TS 146 .H67 -- V.1-7 |
| This seven- volume series provides detailed information on the manufacture of a wide range of items – mouthwash, pantyhose, shaving cream, blue jeans, nail polish, etc. |
| |
| The Safe Shopper's Bible: A Consumer's Guide to Nontoxic |
[REF] TX 356 .S74 |
| Household Products, Cosmetics, and Food |
| While the emphasis in this book is on the health aspects of many everyday items, it provides background that might help you with this project as it covers hundreds of brand name cosmetics and personal care products. |
| |
| The Consumer Bible: 1001 Ways to Shop Smart |
[REF] TX 336 .G74 |
| Publisher notes describe the book as including "guidance on everything from buying a new toy for a child's birthday to deciding on the right long-term healthcare for an ailing parent.
Not a rating book, it's rather a one-stop, street wise education on how to be a savvy shopper." |
| |
| Don’t Go to the Cosmetics Counter without Me |
[REF] RA 778 .B423 |
| The author reviews makeup and other beauty supplies and gives advice on choosing products that are safe and effective.
Ingredients as well as specific brands are examined. |
Periodical Indexes:
The JCCC Library offers many indexes that will lead you to periodical articles on the product you have chosen.
The indexes are either in electronic form or traditional paper format.
Some offer full text (i.e., you will be able to read & print the article right from the computer as you are searching) & others offer a traditional citation or citation and abstract.
Electronic Indexes:
Expanded Academic ASAP
(Available on and off campus)
This index covers a wide range of topics and years from 1980 to the present & is updated daily.
It offers full text coverage for more than 2300 periodicals included.
A good place to start for any topic.
LexisNexis Academic
(This database from Lexis-Nexis is available on & off campus.)
Use the “news” and “business” sections to access extensive newspaper and magazine coverage including new product news and evaluation.
Business and Company Resource Center
(One of the databases available on and off campus.)
Use this database to research all business & management topics, including specific product development and trends.
Lots of full text coverage.
Periodical Abstracts
(One of the databases which are linked on the JCCC Library’s 'Databases' page and available on campus only.)
Similar in scope to Expanded Academic ASAP (see above), Per Abs indexes 1500 periodicals and offers full text for about 530.
Dates = 1987 - current.
Updated weekly.
ABI/Inform
(One of the databases which are linked on the JCCC Library’s 'Databases' page and available on campus only.)
Covers nearly every aspect of business including company histories and new product development.
Approximately 1000 periodicals indexed with full text for more than half of these.
Dates of coverage = 1971 - present.
Updated weekly.
Print Indexes: (Located on Index Tables, library first floor)
Consumer Index
This indexes magazine articles dealing specifically with product evaluation.
You can check for a product category or a company name or a product name.
Annual cumulations start in 1973; updated quarterly.
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature
This is a general index covering a wide range of topics.
Look up your product alphabetically in each volume which covers a specific year or years.
Dates = 1961 - present.
Web Sites:
The following addresses are good sources for product evaluation.
Also, check for sites representing your product or brand name.
http://magazines.ivillage.com/goodhousekeeping/consumer
Good Housekeeping Institute "Savvy Consumer" site includes product tests & shopper’s guides.
http://www.consumersearch.com/www/index.html
PC World’s "Best Expert Review Site": "ConsumerSearch aggregates professional reviews from trusted publications."
http://www.epinions.com/
Named "Best Consumer Review site" by: "Epinions has the largest selection of reviews, for more than 150,000 products."
http://www.cosmeticconnection.com/about.html
The Cosmetic Connection is a searchable web site offering cosmetic information and advice from a team of lay cosmetic consumers who, independent of any corporate sponsor, review an enormous variety of cosmetic brands and products.
http://www.consumerreports.org/
Consumer Reports Online Includes some free consumer product advice; subscription required for full access.
http://vm.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/cos-sts.html
This is an FDA site with excellent coverage of cosmetic products & ingredients.
Look for hair dyes, nail products, sunscreens, etc.
http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/
Federal Consumer Information Center; use the search engine to look for information on whatever product you are examining.
http://householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov/
Health & Safety Information on Household Products from the National Institutes of Health.
Product categories include: Personal Care (makeup, shampoo, soap, etc.), Home Cleaning (air fresheners, detergents, carpet cleaning, etc.), Pet Care, Yard Care and more.