Finding Information about Companies

LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations. [REF] HG 4057 A218
'Who owns whom' directory listing over 4,000 public, private & international companies and their divisions & subsidiaries. A master index provides access to hard-to-find subsidiary info. Cross-referenced geographically & by SIC code.

International Directory of Company Histories. [REF] HD 2721 D36
The origin and evolution of major companies are covered here. Profiles are updated in this continuing series.
Note: This source is now available online through Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives. [REF] HG 4057 A4
Volume 1 covers over 75,000 companies/subsidiaries (U.S. with some Canadian listings). Volume 2 lists key personnel. Volume 3 offers indexing by SIC, state/city, corporate affiliation, and new entry.
Note: This source is now available online as part of the database, NetAdvantage

The Value Line Investment Survey. [REF] HG 4501 V26
Investment advisory service reporting on over 1700 companies. Updated quarterly, it provides 10 year statistical history on 23 key investment factors and rates stocks from several perspectives. Includes a brief industry analysis for 94 industry groups. Check the Value Line Expanded Edition for similar coverage on an additional 1500 small cap publicly owned companies. Note: This source is now available online as part of the database, Value Line

Hoover's Handbooks.
This is a 4 title series profiling the largest companies. Arranged alphabetically, each entry includes an overview, history, key personnel, location, products/services/brands, key competitors & financial performance data.
Note: Someof the Hoover's Handbook material is available online through the database, LexisNexis Academic

  1. Hoover's Handbook of American Business. [REF] HG 4057 A2862
  2. Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies. [REF] HG 4057 A28616
  3. Hoover's Handbook of World Business. [REF] HG 4009 H66

State and Local Business Information:

D&B Regional Business Directory, Kansas City Area. [REF] HG 4058 K3 D86
This Dun & Bradstreet product covers all of Kansas plus western Missouri and two Oklahoma counties. Businesses are ranked by sales and number of employees. Descriptions include standard directory items: address, line of business, sales, etc.

Harris Directory of Kansas Business. [REF] HF 5065 K2 H37
Basic contact information, type and size information is provided. Entries are arranged by city with additional product, SIC, and alphabetic indexes. Statistical section offers rankings and numbers of businesses.

Kansas Manufacturers Directory. [REF] HF 5065 K2
Profiles over 4,400 KS manufacturing firms. Arranged by: Products/Services; Name; Geography, SIC; Parent company.

Missouri Directory of Manufacturers: Including Mining and Quarrying. [REF] HF 5065 M57
Covers more than 9,200 firms. Format similar to KKS directory. Statistical section offers several tables ranking all entries according to number of employees, SIC group, and within counties.

Sorkins Directory of Business & Government (Kansas City edition). [REF] HG 4058 K3
This 6-volume annual offers expanded metro area coverage of businesses, organizations & government. Access by industry code (modified SIC), company name, executive name or county/zip code indexes. Provides names of key personnel, address, kind of business, and some indication of size by employee and sales range.
Note: Sorkins is now available online; in-library use only.. The 2003 edition remains in the Reference stacks.

Library Databases:

NetAdvantage  (Available off campus with a current ID)
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage includes ready access to some popular S&P research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, and more.

Business and Company Resource Center (Available off campus with a current ID)
Use this database to research all business and management topics. Includes investment reports, periodical articles, industry overviews, cmpany rankings, etc. Offers full text of many articles.

ABI/INFORM (Available off campus with a current ID)
Covers company histories, industry information, product development, etc. It indexes, abstracts, and provides selected full text for material from professional publications, academic journals and trade magazines.

LexisNexis Academic(Available off campus with a current ID)
Find detailed information about companies from various sources including Standard & Poors and Hoovers. Identify companies based on various criteria. Read SEC filings and reports.

Kansas City Business Journal  (Available off campus with a current ID)

Get local business news (also job openings, commercial real estate listings, small business info, etc.) from the online edition of the Kansas City Business Journal.

America's Newspapers (Available off campus with a current ID)
Provides full text coverage of articles from the Kansas City Star (1991-present). Full text coverage of Emporia, Lawrence, Manhatttan, Topeka and Wichita newspapers is also available.

Sorkins Online (Available on campus only)
Sorkins offers expanded metro area coverage of businesses, organizations and government. Access by industry code (modified SIC), company name, executive name or county/zip code indexes. Provides names of key personnel, address, kind of business, and some indication of size by employee and sales range.

 

Value Line (Available off campus with a current ID)

Value Line is an independent research company that collects data and analyzes performance of all New York Stock Exchange and American Stock Exchange traded stocks, along with major NASDAQ stocks and other securities. Each weekly issue includes Ratings & Reports (analyses of about 120 stocks and 4-10 related industries), Selection & Opinion, and Summary & Index (Comparative table of stocks +cumulative index).

 

Web Sites:

Researching Companies Online (www.learnwebskills.com/company)
This business research tutorial presents a step-by-step process for finding free company and industry information on the World Wide Web.

Hoovers (www.hoovers.com)
"Company Capsules" are available without charge for 10,000 companies. Basic information. See Hoover's Handbooks (above) for more complete coverage.

EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) (www.sec.gov/edgarhp.htm)
Access the various reports filed by public companies with the SEC.

Carol Campbell, Aug 2009 Return to Guides Index